Monday, July 7, 2014

8 rebels surrender to Army troops in South Cotabato

From the Philippine News Agency (Jul 7): 8 rebels surrender to Army troops in South Cotabato

The Eastern Mindanao Command on Monday announced that another eight members of the New People's Army (NPA)'s underground mass organization (UGMO) voluntarily surrendered to troopers of the 27th Infantry Battalion in South Cotabato Sunday afternoon.

Capt. Alberto Caber, command spokesperson, said this took place around 3 p.m. at Barangay Tasiman, Lake Sebu.

He added that the surrenderees were brought to 27th Infantry Battalion headquarters in Polomolok, South Cotabato for interview and documentation.

The rebels were identified as Ruben Dalisan, farmers’ sector team leader; Ruben Timbang; Torib Tuan; Dicky Tuan; and Banas Sodaw all members of the farmers’ sector; Jemma Dalisan and Finish Timbang both members of the womens’ sector; and Jomer Dalisan of the youth sector.

Caber said the eight belong to one organizing group organized by the NPA in the above-mentioned community.

UGMO comprised of farmer, youth (student and out-of-school) and women sectors of the community that are exploited and abused through deception by the NPA.

Members are not aware that they are the rebels’ source of man-power such as for anti-government rallies, contacts for extortion, support role in the conduct of atrocities and many other criminal activities.

As of this year, there were already around 450 UGMO members surrendered to the military units under the Eastern Mindanao Command.

Eastern Mindanao Command head Lt. Gen. Ricardo Rainier G. Cruz III commended the soldiers of 27th Infantry Battalion for winning the peace without fighting in the area.

“We are thankful to the people and the local officials in the area for helping our peace and development teams (PDTs) achieve their mission that is to rescue civilians exploited by the NPA," he said.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.