Thursday, August 18, 2016

Army’s 10ID turns 10

From the Philippine Information Agency (Aug 18): Army’s 10ID turns 10

The 10th Infantry ‘Agila’ Division (10ID), the youngest in the Philippine Army, celebrates today its 10th year founding anniversary at their headquarters in Mawab, Compostela Valley Province, with the theme, “10th ID @ 10: A Decade of Service for Lasting Peace in Southern Mindanao.”

Highlighting the celebration was the inauguration of the 10ID’s new facilities including their main gate, the tactical operations center and the technical intelligence company building.

Former 10ID commander and now commanding general of the Philippine Army, LtGen Eduardo Año and current 10ID commander MGen Rafael Valencia led the unveiling of markers of the the new structures, while their wives, Jean Jocelyn Maria Año and Teresa Valencia cut the ribbon as ceremonial opening of the facilities.

In his speech, Lt. Gen. Año promised to give another P33-million worth of hospital building to the division.

“Within the year, we will start the construction of a P33-million hospital for 10ID, P25-million for the building and P8-million for the equipment, so that our soldiers will get the necessary health and medical services that they deserve,” Año said.

He also stressed that he is proud to be a part of the Agila division, though the youngest division in the army but it has proven its value through different successes.

He added that for the first semester of the year, the division reported the neutralization of 144 personalities of the New People’s Army and confiscation of 76 assorted firearms.

During the program, the division also honoured its seven former commanders namely, MGen Ernesto Boac (Ret), MGen Jogy Leo Fojas (Ret), MGen Reynaldo Mapagu (Ret), MGen Carlos Holganza (Ret), MGen Jorge Segovia (Ret), MGen Ariel Bernardo (Ret) and LtGen Año.

Present during the anniversary celebration were Davao del Norte Governor Anthony del Rosario, Davao Oriental Governor Nelson Dayanghirang, Davao Oriental former governor and now First District Congresswoman Corazon Malanyaon, Compostela Valley former governor and now Board Member Arthur Uy, and Compostela Valley Congresspersons Maricar Zamora and Ruwel Peter Gonzaga.

According to the Division Public Affairs Office, the Agila Division was created through HPA General Orders No. 355 dated August 9, 2006 and was activated as division on August 16 holding a temporary headquarter at Camp Panacan, Davao City.

The division moved to its present headquarters at Camp General Manuel T. Yan, Sr. in Brgy. Tuboran, Mawab on February 9, 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.