Sunday, July 10, 2016

Aerial view of warships joining RIMPAC 2016

From Update.Ph (Jul 10): Aerial view of warships joining RIMPAC 2016

US Navy photo

From five nations, this year’s iteration of Rim of the Pacific have grown into twenty-six participating countries. Aerial shots released, July 9, by the United States Pacific Command (US PACOM) show ships moored at Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam for the said multi-national naval war games.

Twenty-six nations, more than 40 ships and submarines, more than 200 aircraft, and 25,000 personnel are participating in RIMPAC 2016 which started June 30 and will end August 4, in and around the Hawaiian Islands and Southern California.

Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, People’s Republic of China, Peru, the Republic of Korea, the Republic of the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Tonga, the United Kingdom and the United States forces are RIMPAC 2016 participants.

Hosted by US Pacific Fleet, RIMPAC 2016 is led by US Vice Admiral Nora Tyson, commander of the US 3rd Fleet (C3F), who will serve as the Combined Task Force (CTF) Commander. Royal Canadian Navy Rear Admiral Scott Bishop will serve as deputy commander of the CTF, and Japan Maritime Self Defense Force Rear Admiral Koji Manabe as the vice commander. Other key leaders of the multinational force will include Commodore Malcolm Wise of the Royal Australian Navy, who will command the maritime component; Brigadier General Blaise Frawley of the Royal Canadian Air Force, who will command the air component; and the amphibious task force will be led by Royal New Zealand Navy Commodore James Gilmour.

“The maritime environment is too large for any one nation to protect. Exercises like RIMPAC provide an environment to strengthen regional partnerships and improve multinational interoperability,” Vice Admiral Nora Tyson said.

US Navy photo
US Navy photo

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.