Thursday, October 20, 2016

House probe on violent dispersal outside US embassy sought

From the Philippine News Agency (Oct 20): House probe on violent dispersal outside US embassy sought

The Makabayan bloc in the House of Representatives on Thursday sought a legislative inquiry on the violent dispersal of protesters, including indigenous peoples, in front of the United States Embassy in Manila on Wednesday.

In House Resolution 487, the seven-member bloc also urged the lower chamber to condemn the violent dispersal as it infringes on people’s rights to peaceably assemble and air their grievances.

The lawmakers noted in the resolution that the demonstrators were dispersed violently under the orders of Sr. Supt. Marcelino Pedrozo, deputy director for operations of the Manila Police District.

”What was more revolting, however, was the use of a police mobile car like a battering ram that repeatedly ran over the protesters, thus, resulting to more serious injuries on several people, including women,” the resolution read.

The lawmakers identified PO3 Franklin Kho as the one who reportedly drove the police van that rammed through the protesting crowd.

According to the resolution, 11 protesters were injured and hospitalized after the vehicle incident.
The Makabayan bloc is composed of Bayan Muna Partylist Rep. Carlos Zarate, ACT Teachers Partylist Reps. Antonio Tinio and France Castro, Gabriela Partylist Reps. Emmi de Jesus and Arlene Brosas, Anakpawis Partylist Rep. Ariel Casilao, and Kabataan Partylist Rep. Sarah Elago.

1 comment:

  1. The Makabayan bloc in the Philippine House of Representatives is a group of legislators/members of known Communist Party of the Philippines (CPP) political fronts,

    Makabayang Koalisyon ng Mamamayan (Makabayan) was founded on April 16, 2009. It is a political coalition that is presently comprised of some 12 Philippine progressive parties: Bayan Muna, Anakpawis, Gabriela, Kabataan, Courage, Migrante, ACT-Teachers, Katribu, Akap Bata, Piston, Kalikasan and Aking Bikolnon. The national council also includes personages in the field of arts, governance, mass media and people’s organizations.

    The list of key members posted to the Makabayan Website reads like a Who's Who of CPP activists/front organizations and include the following:

    National Officers

    - Rafael Mariano and Liza Maza

    - Roseller Barinaga

    - Satur Ocampo

    Vice President
    - Teddy Casino

    Vice President for Luzon
    - Beverly Longid

    Vice President for Visayas
    - Siegfred Deduro

    Vice President for Mindanao
    - Athel Hijos

    Secretary General
    - Nathanael Santiago

    Deputy Secretary General
    - Robert de Castro

    - Perla Abunda

    - Yvonne Luna

    Director for Organization
    - Lutgardo Jurcales

    Director for Political Relations
    - Grace Saguinsin-Trinidad

    10 Regional representatives
    11 Party-list representatives

    Ex Officio
    - Rep. Neri Colmenares, Bayan Muna
    - Rep. Luzviminda Ilagan, Gabriela Womens Party
    - Rep. Emmi de Jesus, Gabriela Womens Party
    - Rep. Raymond Palatino, Kabataan
    - Rep. Antonio Tinio, ACT Teachers
    - Rep. Fernando Hicap, Anakpawis
    - Rep. Carlos Isagani Zarate, Bayan Muna
    - Rep. Terry Ridon, Kabataan Party-list

    At Large
    - Dr. Bienvenido Lumbera
    - Raymond Palatino
    - Dr. Reynaldo Lesaca Jr.
    - Dr. Romeo Quijano
    - Joel Lamangan
    - Dr. Ed Clemente
    - Dr. Lenie Jara
    - Atty. Gres Fabros
    - Judy Taguiwalo
    - Amirah Lidasan
    - Joel Maglunsod

    CPP protest actions are often designed to provoke overreactions by Philippine security forces by inciting demonstrators to threaten law enforcement officers during the protest and by defacing or destroying both government and private property.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.