Monday, September 30, 2013

8ID Change of Command (w/ photo)

Recently posted to the Samar News (Sep 13): 8ID Change of Command (w/ photo)


8ID Change of Command

CAMP LUKBAN, Catbalogan CityA Testimonial Review in honor of Major General Gerardo T Layug AFP and Change of Command ceremony was held yesterday at the Headquarters of the 8th Infantry Division. Brigadier General Jet B Velarmino AFP took over the Command of the Division from Major General Gerardo T Layug AFP who officially retired yesterday after serving the Armed Forces of the Philippines for 37 years. Major General Samuel L Narbuada AFP, Inspector General, Philippine Army represented Lieutenant General Noel A Coballes AFP, the Commanding General, Philippine Army as the Guest of Honor and Presiding Officer.

Distinguished guests and awardees from the public and the private sectors namely: Hon. Jose L Ong, Governor of Northern Samar; Hon. Conrado B Nicart Jr, Governor of Eastern Samar; Hon. Emil Ong, Representative 2nd District, Northern Samar Hon. Harlin Abayon, Representative 1st District Northern Samar; Most Reverends Isabelo C Abarquez, Bishop Diocese of Calbayog and Emmanuel Trance, Bishop of the Diocese of Catarman.

Other awardees sent their respective representatives to receive the awards are the following: Hon Sharee Ann Tan, Governor of Samar represented by Ms Hannia Tan, Tourism Officer; Hon Ben Evardone, Representative Lone District, Eastern Samar represented by Hon Marcelo Ferdinand Picardal; and Hon Mel Senen S Sarmiento Representative, 1st District, Samar represented by Hon Charlie Cońejos, Board Member 1st District of Samar.

And likewise the invited guests that also sent their representatives were; Hon Leopoldo L Petilla, Governor of Leyte represented by Hon Mesias Arevalo, Board Member 4th District of Leyte; Director Manolito D Ragub, Regional Executive Director DENR, RO8 represented by Marciano Talavera, Technical Director for Forestry; Director Jose Nick Mendros, Regional Director COMELEC, RO8 represented by Atty Ma. Corazon Montallana; Director Rolando A Asis, Regional Director, DPWH, RO8 represented by Engineer Efren Padilla; Director Rey M Gozon, Acting Regional Director, OCD8 represented by Bhenlie Linde; Director Edgar A Catarongan, MPA, Regional Director, LTO, RO8 represented by Mr Ruben Mancol, OIC, LTO Catbalogan and Stephany Uy Tan the City Mayor of Catbalogan represented by Hon Bembot Bermejo City Councilor.

In his farewell speech, Major General Layug acknowledged the professionalism and commitment of the soldiers of the 8th Infantry Division and the support and cooperation of the public and the private sector partners who have worked with him to make Region 8 a better place to live-in and made 8ID as one of the best Infantry Divisions of the Philippine Army for Calendar Year 2012.

The newly designated 8ID Commander, Brigadier General Jet B Velarmino called on the personnel of the Division and the partners in the civilian sector to continue pursuing effort with the local officials and community leaders as well as the citizenry . “I envision that under my charge, the soldiers of 8ID will give the genuine spirit of “Bayanihan” alive. I will definitely work by defining the framework of the AFP Internal Peace and Security Plan (IPSP) Bayanihan and the Army Transformation Roadmap (ATR).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.