Friday, March 14, 2014

‘Founders’ of MNLF drop Nur

From the Manila Standard Today (Mar 15): ‘Founders’ of MNLF drop Nur

The founding leaders of the Moro National Liberation Front, called the Top 90 batch, have declared MNLF founding chairman Nur Misuari “persona non grata” for leadership blunders, including the three-week attack in Zamboanga City in September last year.

The government and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front will sign the Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro in Malacañang on March 27.

Hadji Abul Khayr Alonto announced the new development in Marawi City in a public forum  before thousands of residents in Lanao del Sur earlier this week.

“We have declared Nur Misuari a persona non grata with the MNLF. There is no other MNLF now but us,” Alonto said.

“In the same manner, we invite all factions within the Misuari faction, including the MNLF Council of 15, to join us,” Alonto added.

Alonto said the 32 surviving members of the Top 90 agreed to declare Misuari a persona non grata for his “leadership blunders that put the organization into disarray.”

“After 17 long years of arduous negotiations, we are finally arriving at a political settlement that will seal enduring peace and progress in Mindanao,” presidential peace adviser Teresita Deles said.

“The signing of the CAB is expected to benefit not only the Bangsamoro but the entire country, and will radiate beyond our borders to the regional community, and perhaps the whole world,” she added.

The signing will be witnessed by Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak.

Malaysia has served as third party broker of the peace talks since 2001.

The CAB will pave the way for the creation of the Bangsamoro - a political entity that would replace the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

After it is signed, the Transition Commission will complete the Bangsamoro Basic Law and submit it to Congress by June.

The BBL will include the Framework Agreement on the Bangsamoro (FAB) signed by the government and the MILF in 2012 and the four annexes on transitional arrangements, power-sharing, wealth-sharing, and normalization (disarmament).

The Bangsamoro is envisioned to have for its core territory the entire ARMM, as well as six municipalities in Lanao del Norte, namely Baloi, Munai, Nunungan, Pantar, Tagoloan and Tangkal; all other barangays in the municipalities of Kabacan, Carmen, Aleosan, Pigkawayan, Pikit, and Midsayap that also voted for inclusion in the ARMM during the 2001 plebiscite; and the cities of Cotabato and Isabela.;postID=6958750157220975168

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.